Two hours I'll never get back of my life [ 2006-12-10, 4:44 p.m. ]

I've come to the conclusion that I just think that life is too short to spend it in the company of people that irritate but yet bore the crap out of me. Michael came to the store yesterday to visit. He had with him Paco, of course, and his friend from online blogging,Debra. She seems nice enough and was visiting for a few days from up north. He invited me to come after work to his house because Laura, a friend of his, was going to be bringing some food and they were all having dinner. She is a good cook and always brings food with her when she comes over to his house. Which is cool but also, if I was Michael, a bit annoying. You know what I mean? Like, it's my house, let me do the hosting. Am I weird? Don't answer that.

Anyway, I did some Christmas shopping at the store when I got off at 7:30, which was more like 8 because I was working on a schedule. By the time I got out to my car, it was almost 9pm. I was debating on going over to his house still but decided that it was good for me to actually see people outside of my family and work. At least that's what I thought. Turns out I really only wanted to spend some time with Michael and Paco.

So I get there, the food is good. Conversation is fine for a while but then goes downhill. I could tell Laura was getting a bit tipsy. Debra was a bit loopy aleady. The only other person, beside Paco and Michael, not drunk was Jody because she's pregnant. I get along ok with Jody and Laura but things bother me about them enough that I really don't seek out their company. I've been acquantances with them because of Michael for about 15 years when the lived in the same apt. building with him then. He's been friends with them since but I really don't know why. Little in common with them. Jody is nice enough really but has that certain thing where she acts like the rest of us are frivolous and she is way too busy to do anything else but work. Ok. Whatev. But, like I said, she's nice enough most of the time.

Laura is one of those women who is a big old know it all. And she got really snippy with me during conversation last night when I disputed what she was talking about. That's when something clicked in my head. You know, I thought, I'd rather be home. I got up and went upstairs where Michael was showing Jody something on the computer. Talked with them for a few minutes. We went downstairs and I told Michael I was going to leave since I was tired. Sort of true. I gave him a hug and also Debra a hug and left. Did not say goodbye to Jody or Laura. Which I really didn't realize till later. Eh. I see them, like, twice a year or so. Laura only slightly more.

Michael has actually talked about how he's only sort of friends with them both. They are both bad at returning calls and staying in touch. Are rarely on time. And really, still nothing in common. I can't tell you how bored I was when I was sitting there at the table. Or maybe I was just extra cranky. I don't know.

So I left and went to Blockbust-er and rented "Superman Returns". Not a bad movie but too slow in lots of places.

0 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design