Men. Bah. [ 2009-12-03, 3:15 a.m. ]

Gaaaahhhhhhhh. I hate feeling like I should apologize when I'm the one in the right. Here's the deal...

Tonight I was looking at the Grammy nominations and was appalled by the nominees. This is my opinion, of course. Your mileage may vary. It's just that I hate seeing all these Pop artists constantly awarded when they really aren't the best out there. At least with the Oscars it's less of a popularity contest. It still has some artistic cred. The Grammys...no. Anyway, for me when I see an artist that I love nominated it means they are getting recognition which can lead to album sales for them. Which means they can continue to pursue what they do well.

So..I posted on my Facebook status something like "God, the Grammys blow..I think that Wilco had one of the best albums of the year and yet they are only nominated way down in the Americana category which probably won't be televised. You may not agree with my opinion on Wilco but the Black Eyed Peas get a nod for Best Album? WTF?"

(Again..my opinion. I'm aware that the Peas probably made a fun album but that doesn't equate to Best Album, for me at least)

Then Brooks posts a comment saying derogatory things about the Wilco album. I reply that the "you may not agree with my opinion on Wilco" was directed towards him. He again says he didn't like it. I tell him that he can disagree if he likes which he doesn't hesitate to do every time I state my opinion.

I was so pissed. Really pissed off. Any time, which seems to be often, he has to give me his differing opinion on something like he's the fucking end all and be all of musical opinions. He's like the fucking comic book guy from the Simpsons. I left FB and turned off my computer for a few minutes. Came back and saw the notification that he'd left another comment but it wasn't there. Obviously, he'd deleted it. So I just deleted the whole fucking thing.

Ya know, in person I could just say to him "Yea, yea. I know. You don't like it. Blah blah blah." and just laugh him off. But written communication is so different. Sometimes better but often times not. Especially internet. Everyone has to be so clever in what they say. It's irritating. I know I do it myself. Have to outsnark people. Top the next comment. That can be fun. But other times it just needs to be a real conversation of back and forth ideas. And I can have that conversation with Brooks but I think in person it would work much better.

Anyway. I will probably see him in Roanoke when I go up there to see Charles and the band. Or not. We'll see.

0 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design