Our balls are clean! [ 2004-07-06, 2:01 a.m. ]

Have you ever just gone into the bathroom..minding your own business..and you see a SLUG on the shower windowsill? Bleah!!!!!!! How freaking icky! I know it can't hurt me (at least I don't think so) but it is so (shudder)..icky!

It took me a while to work up the nerve to grab it with a huge pile of toilet paper and flush it down the toilet. Twice to be sure. I am such a girl when it comes to these things. But living alone means I have to deal with it myself so I do. yucky yucky yucky.

So I worked Sunday but I went home at noon. I really was feeling sick to my stomach and combined with no sleep I just had to go home. Plus, the store was DEAD as a doornail. I don't know why we even stay open on holidays like the 4th. We're a friggin' bookstore not the grocery store. Who in their right mind comes to a bookstore on a day like yesterday? If we weren't open the people who did come in would not have cared I'm sure. Or at least I wouldn't have and that's what counts.

So I went home at noon and took some Pepto-Bismol and fell asleep for about 4 hours and felt so much better. Went over to my parents' and had good food as usual. My Mom and I watched Yankee Doodle Dandy on Turner Classic Movies. When I was a kid, I actually thought that James Cagney really was George M. Cohan. I love that movie. And the big number "Give My Regards to Broadway" is just wonderful. I'm a sucker for a good musical.

I worked tonight and was joking around with one of my booksellers who is in her 50's. I was discussing with her about how the mouse at one of the info stations doesn't work well. I told her the ball needed to be cleaned and she said she would leave that up to me to tell Jeff, our manager. I started saying things like "Our balls are clean, Jeff!" and "Blow on the ball!" making her choke on her water. Yes, we were rather slow tonight. If one can't talk about blowing on balls every once in a while...well, then how much fun is that?

0 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design