Labor Day weekend [ 2004-09-06, 7:11 p.m. ]

I'm back from my weekend visit to the lake. I had a good time overall. I always enjoy shooting the breeze with everybody. And we can get pretty darn silly. I do have to remember to avoid any political discussions there the next time since I was almost the only Kerry supporter there. Never discuss politics or religion with your friends unless they completely agree with you. It can get a bit heated. I didn't get that far into it because I didn't want any sore feelings.

Although once when one of the guys was massaging my shoulders and back, he asked why I was so tense. I replied "because George Bush is President?" Heh. I thought it was funny at least.

I'm sitting here waiting for dinner to be ready. I'm making baked ziti yet again because its so damn easy and so damn good and filling. When I got back into town this afternoon, I laid down and got a couple hours naptime. It felt sooo good. I slept pretty good at the lake but didn't sleep in so I wasn't getting a full night's sleep.

The lake was just beautiful. Very nice weather. Not too hot. The sun reflecting off the lake was just so picturesque. We went for a night boat ride on Saturday and I saw three shooting stars. Nothing like the country to let you actually see the stars.

Sunday,Mandy came with all but one of her kids. The twins went on the boat with the other kids and a couple of the guys and my nephew,Bob, got up on the skis on the second try. We were very proud. He'd never skied before so that was really cool.

I am glad to be home though. 2 days away was just enough. My hip was hurting from the arthritis and still is. I really should put a heating pad on it tonight. I feel like an old coot.

I went on Friday afternoon to the used bookstore,yet again. I bought a couple of chicklit books: Diary of a Working Girl by Daniella Brodsky and Gossip Hound by Wendy Holden. Plus, I got a sort of teen fiction book that I've been wanting to read for a while. Its about pixies and whatnot, Weetzie Bat by Francesca Lia Block.

Tonight is probably watching a movie if I feel like it and reading the newspapers from Sat,Sunday and today. I know how to live.

3 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design