Cranky old man [ 2004-10-03, 10:30 p.m. ]

I'm feeling a bit better today. Maybe it was just a 24 hour bug. I'm still a bit tired but that's all.

My Dad is now at the point where I don't want to be around him 90% of the time. The crabby old man bit is just too much to put up with. I was over at Mandy's today for her party and he made some stupid comment like "This is the worst music I've ever heard!". This was the cd that I had burned for her specifically because she wanted songs about house and home. I don't care if you don't like the music. If you are at someone else's place, move away from the stereo and ignore the fucking music. And I don't care how closely related you are...keep your fucking trap shut.

I was telling Mandy what an asshole our Dad has been and that I was thinking maybe it was partly due to the quitting smoking. She said (and she's always been Daddy's girl and has always made a big effort to get along with him more than Christy or I do) that he's always been this way and that we're just now noticing it. She said she can't stand to sit down with him anymore because he's no fun to talk to.

This is sad and maddening. I feel sorry for my Mom for having to live with that. But at the same time, who knows what a marriage is like when others aren't around? Hopefully, its ok. I mean, they are planning on taking a weekend trip to Blowing Rock to see some autumn colors and enjoy the mountain air. I think that's fantastic and a move in the right direction. I just wish he'd stop being such an ass. I hate having to plan my visits over there around when he's home or not. I try not to really. I'd hate to feel like I never see him or anything. But I have a very low threshold for bullshit. I have to take enough shit from people at work. I don't need it in my personal life.

My niece, who turned 18 last week, mentioned to me that, even though she's a registered Republican, that she's going to be voting for Kerry. Yay! I felt like high-fiving her.


Oh,guess what.... Remember how I mentioned that I got a 20% warning over on TWoP? Well, now I'm up to a 40% warning. Go me! Yea, I made the mistake of emailing the stupid moderator about the first warning and just to spite me, he upped my warning. Apparantly protesting any warnings are a big no-no. I'm sending bad karma his way.

I close the next 3 nights. Blah. At least I won't be getting up early. Unfortunately, the division playoffs start on Tuesday night. Bah. Maybe ESPN will re-broadcast them overnight. Here's hoping.


0 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design