Everybody's gotta learn sometime [ 2005-03-14, 2:49 p.m. ]

They say bad things come in threes.

The first:

I was fiddling around on my computer at home on Friday night. Being bored and watching tv at the same time, I decided to try and free up some space on my computer. Since its so damn slow and all. So I deleted something that I thought wasn't necessary. But it turns out it was. Very necessary to keep me online. Who knew? In a way its a blessing. I wanted to get a new computer anyway. All I need is a CPU really though if I go for one of those Dell package deals I might get the screen and keyboard and printer. But I probably won't be online very much for the next couple weeks. Just when I'm over here at my parents'.

Which brings me to the second bad thing.

I came over here on Saturday to wash clothes and have dinner. As I'm bringing my clothes basket into the house, my Mom tells me that my Dad had fallen the night before. Instead of calling an ambulance or at least me or Mandy, he stayed on the floor in pain most of the night. He was somehow able to get in a chair at one point but still could barely move. Neither of them know how to handle an emergency so I immediately said I was going to call 911. I did so and the medics came shortly after. After getting him to the hospital and spending 5 HOURS in the emergency room while waiting for a room, it turns out he broke his left hip. Ouch. They operated on him yesterday morning. I went to see him today and he was doing ok. He was sitting up in a chair without any real pain. And his physical therapist had had him walk back and forth in his room with the walker in the morning. He'll be in there till the weekend most likely. After that, some more physical therapy which will hopefully be done from home.

I felt so bad for my dad. And my mom. Its like she freezes up when stuff like this happens. I take a moment but then go into action. Maybe its my training from being at work as a manager. I don't know.

I go back to work today from my mini-vacation. Don't have to be there till 4:30pm so that's cool.

Oh, that third thing? My shower curtain got a big hole in it from putting it in the washing machine. So now I need a new one. When it rains, it fucking pours, eh?

2 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design