That's the Night that the Lights Went Out [ 2005-09-18, 2:57 p.m. ]

So this is how my day went yesterday.

I was closing so I went in at 2pm (note that I didn't go in early like I was thinking I would). I sat down at the desk and finished up writing out my final drafts. All of them. By 7pm. I was so happy. That wouldn't last long.

At about 8pm half of the power went out in the store. Most of the cafe was out of power and half of the store was in semi-darkness. I went back to the breakers and fiddled for a few minutes with some breakers to see if anything had tripped. Unfortunately,no. I was truly puzzled. Having only half of the power going out is something I've never witnessed. Very odd.

I went back up to the cashwrap and then realized that the server was down. Meaning that the registers were useless. Ugh. After trying to reboot them and seeing if that would help, I realized it was no good. I made an announcement that we would have to close and after a few people paying in exact change or a check we got people out around 8:30.

I called the power company and was told the estimated time of having full power would be 11:30pm. Oops. So then I called the supposed help desk. If you've ever had to do this at your company you know that half of the time the people have no clue. It's very frustrating. I was on the phone with them for almost an hour and a half. They kept telling me to try this or that. Meanwhile, I'm saying that "don't you think that once full power is restored that it should trip it back on?" But no, because not all the server boxes were off (and they seem to all be near the same power source) they didn't believe me.

Towards the end of the conversation they wanted me to look for the serial number of the server box that was off. I told them there was no way I could get to it. All of these servers and whatnots are in this big black metal box that is almost as tall as me and almost as long. It sits in a corner of this small office we have and there is no way I can get into the box to look around because everything is bolted into place. When I asked why they don't have this information themselves they had no answer. Oy.

Anyway, I told them I would be at the store in the morning,since I was opening, at 6am so a tech guy could come in that early. By the end of this conversation, when I was on hold, I just started crying. You had to be there to understand my level of frustration. I'm out of my element when it comes to stuff like this so it just makes the situation worse.

Finally,my employees and I left at 10pm which is when we normally close so we really didn't benefit that much from closing early. Which is not fair!

I got about 2 hours of sleep because it takes me so long to wind down anyway and feeling anxiety about the morning didn't help. On the drive to work this morning, my stomach was in knots. I felt like I was going to throw up. I didn't know what the hell I was going to do if the server wasn't working or the power wasn't back up.

I got there and a guy from Cisco was there with a replacement box for the tech guy, who wasn't there yet. Once I got the box from him, I went in and realized that the power was back up. Huzzah! That made me smile. Then a few minutes later, the support desk called and said that the server was back online and just had me shut it down like I closing the store so it would cycle through. Once I realized that all was right with the world again, my stomach magically felt better. I was in such a good mood.

And even better, I got all the reviews typed up today without me needing to stay extra. We weren't too busy since the Panthers game is in town and started at 1pm. I'm watching it right now actually.

Oh,you know last night..another thing that didn't help my well-being is that when I called New Manager's home number (to let her know the situation and that we'd closed early) some woman answered the phone and said she wasn't available. And even though I said it was about a power outage she still didn't make to get New Manager on the phone. I'm sorry. But if somebody calls your house and says the store had a power outage..you put the manager on the damn phone..NOW. Don't fucking screen the damn calls,bitch. And I'm talking about the woman who answered the phone,not New Manager. I don't think she ever gave the message cause NM never called. Weird.

So I'm at much peace now. Home earlier than usual since I went in at 6 this morning. Got those reviews done. Quite content for the moment.

But I'm definitely taking a nap later on.

3 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design