So, tell me a story [ 2005-11-05, 12:11 a.m. ]

I just wrote 1,523 words in my NaNo novel! Whoo! I had neglected to write again last night and again this morning so I forced myself, even though I was feeling a bit sleepy, to write for at least a half hour. Turned into an hour. It really picked up steam in the plot. It's definitely not a masterpiece but I'm liking it. I'm really good at dialogue and whatnot but not as much with the describing detail about settings like houses or things like that. I kinda fake it on stuff like that and get back to the talking or the thinking to one's self part.

Anyway, I'm so happy it's up to 9 pages now. Yippee. I'm trying to remember how far I got in my NaNo novel last year. I have it on a floppy disc but unfortunately my new computer only has a cd drive.

After reading vickithecute talking about the library, I was feeling the urge to go there myself. So I did. But all I got were cds. Ha. I do have a couple of books on request though. "The Drowning Tree" by Carol Goodman and "House of Leaves" by Mark Danielewski.

The cds I checked out (and have already put into my iTunes)are:

Old Crow Medicine Show-self titled. I heard them play once on Praire Home Companion and really dug them.

Madonna-Greatest Hits Vol.2 Some good re-mixes. One of my favorite songs from her is "Deeper and Deeper"..just a really great song that reminds me of a certain time.

Entertainment Weekly:The Greatest Hits 1971--selected titles, namely "Knock Three Times" by Dawn, this always reminds me of rollerskating. And yes, it has Tony Orlando on it but apparantly they were still billed as Dawn at that point. "Maggie May" by Rod Stewart. I probably have this on something else but I didn't have it in my iTunes. "Indian Reservation" by The Raiders (also known as Paul Revere and the Raiders) if only for the fact that my sister,Christy, and I were just talking about this song last weekend. "One toke over the line" by Brewer & Shipley. A good stoner song. "Mr. Bojangles" by The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band. How can you not like this song? And last but not least, "Brand New Key" by Melanie. If there was ever a song to remind me of the early '70's, it's this one.

Dirty Vegas-self titled. I only wanted one song from this one "Days Go By". Cool song.

Linda Ronstadt-Feels Like Home: the whole album seems to be covers like "The Waiting" (Tom Petty, of course) and "After the Gold Rush" (Neil Young aka God).

Ocean's Elevensoundtrack. I went ahead and ripped the whole thing. I've always loved that soundtrack. It's very cool jazz. Mind you, I don't love all jazz. Some can be really pretentious. I like most big band. But some jazz I feel like yelling "find a melody and stick with it,bub!". But this jazz is different. Also, they have snippets of dialogue from the movie, which is neat.

I'm sleepy but I'm energized after writing in my novel. That's the most I've written in one sitting so far so I know I'm starting to roll with it. Very. Cool.

5 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design