Break on through to the Other Side [ 2005-11-07, 11:38 p.m. ]

I am so happy right now I may cry. I've had a small breakthrough on my main character. Who knew she had a secret? So damn interesting and cool.

Oh and I managed to exceed my goal by 15 words! Ha! I'm now up to 11,827 words. Woot! I wrote tonight while listening to Radiohead's "The Bends" album. That cd really set the right mood. Beautiful and sad.

Hey, here's an excerpt from my NaNo novel:

"Why, you say? Ahh, I think he was always crazy, is what I heard. Very strict. Would go off on anybody who looked at him cross-eyed. My parents told me that they'd always go out of their way to not cross his path. The wife and children were good people if a bit quiet. The daughter had been the oldest, about 19 or so. The sons were still growing up. He'd gotten the wife by some kind of mail order thing I think. At least that was the opinion of the townfolk. Who knows though." Mr. Rose paused and patted Janet on the shoulder. "Would you like some water, hon?"

She took a deep breath and straightened up. "Thanks, Mr. Rose. You've been a lot of help. I should have come to you first, I guess." She gave a small laugh.

"Come to me first? So what's all the interest all of a sudden?"

"Do you really want to know?" She looked up at him seriously. He nodded. "I think my house is haunted."

"Well, that's to be expected." He replied evenly, not seeming surprised at all.

2 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design