Happy New Year!!! [ 2006-01-01, 9:01 p.m. ]

Boy, have I had a hard day. First, I woke up at 1pm. Watched the Panthers kick the Falcons' ass. Then I took a about a 4 hour nap. Woke up and fixed dinner while watching "Extreme Makeover:Home Edition". Sigh. What a hard day. Ha. I'm still in my pjs, the ones that I got for Christmas. I love'em. They're pink and have coffee cups, tea kettles and coffee jugs all over.

Right now, I'm currently listening on my iTunes to Ryan Adams' new album "29". Good stuff.

So, what can I say about 2005. I know that mostly what you can remember about a year is what recently happened. But I'll try to dig back further.

I saw some excellent concerts. Steve Earle, Ryan Adams, Glenn Phillips, Ben Folds and The Fray, X, and of course, U2. I still can't get over that concert. Truly the best thing about the year. I wish I could bottle that feeling.

My dad broke his hip back in April. He's still recovering from that.

My mom is doing well, thank God. Her birthday was yesterday. Yep, she's a New Year's Eve baby. I gave her a gift card to a craft shop and a calendar. And I gave her a very sappy card. She even called me today during the Panthers game and said she was still thinking about how nice that card was. *sniffle*

Last night for New Year's Eve, once I visited with my parents, I headed over to Michael's house. We (Michael,Paco and I) sat around and talked for a while. I finally told Michael about the problems at work that I'd been dealing with. I told him that I wasn't keeping it from him on purpose. And I really wasn't. I've only told two people (outside of work--I told Diane) in my "real life" about the whole mess. I think he understood that. I told him I'd just get too emotional about the whole thing and just wasn't up for discussing it that much at the time. I'm glad I told him now though.

We rang in the new year with champagne (I had two glasses. Woo!). Then we watched "Batman Begins", which was very good. Not only was Christian Bale good in that role but the supporting cast was excellent save for Katie "I speak out of the side of my mouth and look like a stroke victim" Holmes.

I headed home after the movie since it was about 3am and I was fading fast. It was a nice way to spend the night. I mean, sure, I would like to have gone to a party but I was fine with staying in.

Now, I was talking about the past year. I really think the highlight of my year was going to see more bands in concert. I really need to do that even more this year. It kept me going through the rough times. At least, all the problems at work resolved themselves. I mean, my manager still has to talk to my DM tomorrow but I think it will go alright. I just have to keep pushing myself to meet expectations and not become lazy about anything.

I was discussing the fact about my manager having positive things to say with Diane on Friday. And Diane told me she thought I had been doing a great job. Which made me feel good. It's nice to know that other people have noticed.

Another thing about the past year..I filed for bankruptcy. While I'm not happy about that, I am happy about the clean slate it leaves me with.

And, last but not least, I wrote a novel during NaNoWriMo. During the month of November when I was more than a little stressed out. I accomplished something I've never done before. And that makes me pretty damn proud of myself.

Ok. So resolutions for 2006. Most are like what other people say:

Lose weight

Exercise more

Save money

Become more organized

.

So yes, there is all that. But then it really just boils down to ENJOY LIFE MORE. Don't let it pass me by.

1 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design