My lost shaker of salt [ 2006-01-28, 9:49 p.m. ]

I had me a nice birthday. Once I finally got up, which was around 1pm, I made my way over to my parents' house around 4pm. Washed some clothes and felt faint with hunger till about 5:45pm when my sister, Mandy and all her kids showed up (save for her oldest). Had my Mom's wonderful potato salad and fried chicken. Then, we had chocolate cake with chocolate icing. Yummy.

I received some money from my parents and my sister. I want to put it to my iPod fund but we'll see.

Mandy called me after I got up that day to sing happy birthday to me and to let me know that she'd gotten a new job at a photography studio that would pay her well and give her nice benefits. I'm so happy for her. She totally deserves this. The place she'd been at for 12 years was really going downhill. Having to lay off workers for several weeks to put them on part-time unemployment. They've made the mistake of not going to digital photography like most studios use now. So this new studio does that and the guy who interviewed Mandy was really impressed by her enthusiasm.

Anyway, after dinner and cake I went over to Michael's and then he, Paco and me went to see Syriana at the theatre. While it was kinda hard to follow sometimes, the last part of it made it worth the time. Plus, George Clooney and Matt Damon were very good as well as all the supporting players.

After the movie we went to a restaurant bar and had some delicious Cuervo frozen margaritas. I had two which was enough. But, man, were they good. Plus, we had some dessert.

Then we went back to their house and watched on dvd Junebug. It's set in North Carolina and was written by a native North Carolinian. As I grow older, as I told Michael, I feel more proud of where I'm from. I know there is definitely bad with the good but I feel that every part of the country has that. It's just Hollywood usually portrays the South as the only place with ignorant people. I just think people down here have no qualms about letting their freak flag fly. And that doesn't always make people comfortable. I'm not talking about bigotry. That's never good. But the fact that a lot of people in the South, specifically in the country, just have no inhibitions about looking cool. It's kinda neat.

Anyway, I liked the movie and highly recommend it.

Once I got home it was the middle of the night and I finally fell asleep around 5:30am. But only for a minute because then the phone rang. I looked at the caller id and saw it was Diane from work. I answered and she didn't realize it was me at first. She thought she was calling another manager to ask him if he would go in for her since she had yet another migraine. She gets these like clockwork around every 3 months. And I'm not saying she's faking because I know she isn't. But I'm sure Jonathan wasn't too happy about having to drag his ass out of bed much much earlier than he bargained for.

I had to call work this afternoon because I wanted to get Michael to do his fake mystery shopper thing again for me on Sunday. So I had to get my manager to fax him the forms and to look up a title that would be out of stock. I actually had a dream that I was at work doing that. Ugh. It's hard to get used to, right away, that I'm not going in till a week from Monday. Wheee!

Thank you to all of you who wished me a Happy Birthday. It was very sweet.

3 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design