Come pick me up [ 2006-04-14, 1:20 a.m. ]

Do you ever feel like you only have one subject left to discuss with your dad that you can both show interest in and doesn't include arguing? Well,that's me. We're down to sports. That's it. Just sports. Sigh.

Anyway, if you look at my myspace today you will read my brief synopsis of how tired I was by the end of my day. Let me tell you about that day, shall I?

It started off well enough. I got about 7.5 hours of sleep. Got to work at 7am. Got the morning paperwork done. The store opened up at 9am. Got a few things done. Jonathan came in at 11am and I went to eat lunch in the cafe. Our cafe mgr felt a bit ill so she went to sit down and then a bookseller came over to cover for her plus Jonathan because it got really busy. I swear this is leading somewhere. Don't mean to bore you with too many details. Anyway, the phone naturally starts ringing off the hook. I get up from my lunch and pick up the one that's been on hold for a couple minutes.

It was my manager. She asked how the day was going and I related to her the details of the hour. Basically one person on the floor, one at the cash register, two in the cafe..and me trying to eat lunch. She asked if I was ready for the day to get worse. Err..no? She told me her kid was sick and her nanny wasn't available and her husband was out of town. My manager was supposed to be the closing manager. I kinda paused and told her I'd figure something out.

That involved Jonathan staying till 9pm and me coming in to close the store. Fun! I possibly could've called in another manager but I hate to call in people on their day off.

So...I left shortly before 3:30 because I had an interview to go to. Oh...I know. I hadn't mentioned that fact before. I got a call on Tuesday from the district manager for Restor@tion H@rdware. If you don't have one of those stores in your town, just google it and check it out. They've got great stuff.

The interview went pretty well. I'm not sure if I'll get it..it being the store manager position of the store that is only two blocks away from where I'm working now. The DM was very personable and a good interviewer. Having been on that side of the table, I knew what kinds of questions were coming. I feel like I made a good impression at least. Now I'll be having a phone conversation/interview with a store manager from one of the stores in the state. That manager will give feedback to the DM and then when he widdles down the candidate pool to about 3 or 4, you interview with the regional manager.

I was kind of anxious about the interview but really I was not nearly as nervous as I thought I might be. Kind of a zen state. Ce sera, sera.

So then after the hour long interview I went to my parents to have dinner and wash clothes and to avoid political conversation with my father.

Then went back to the store at 9pm and closed the store at 10pm and finally got out of there at 10:45pm. I'm telling you. I lead the glamourous life!

A bright spot was that my friend, Helen, who is my first "friend" on myspace, came in to see me at work and I totally ignored work for about 15 minutes while I talked with her. One of the first things I said to her was "You need to gain weight!". Poor thing is so stressed from her bad marriage and all that she has a hard time eating. But she did tell me she gained ten pounds. So that's good. I just don't want to lose touch ever again with her. She's such a sweetie and so much fun. And we have so much shared history.

So..that was my day. Action packed. The good and the bad.

1 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design