Down with the sickness [ 2006-05-27, 9:58 a.m. ]

As I ranted over at my blog a while ago, my power was off when I came home last night. I dialed the power company using my cell phone while I sat in the driveway in my car. The automated gal said that my power was estimated to be on by 11:30pm. At the time it was 11pm, so I thought, "well,that's not too bad".

Ha. So I went inside, found my flashlights and some candles. Made a little Sarah MacLachlan style candle orgy on my nightstand. Found my booklight and started reading Jodi Picoult's latest book The Tenth Circle. I looked at my cell phone to check the time after a while and saw it was almost midnight. Pisser. So I phoned the power company. This time the automated gal said "estimated time is 8:30am". Fucking...stupid...gahhhhhh

I was not pleased, to say the least. But there wasn't much I could do except pray that the food in my fridge wouldn't go bad. I made sure to not open it all. Not even for a drink of iced tea or anything. I laid back down and continued reading for another hour. Then forced myself to go to sleep. I slept fitfully and was half-awake when the power suddenly came on around 6:30. Huzzah! I immediately jumped up, resetting the times on the answering machine,alarm clock and tv. Turned on the computer and basked in the glow of the monitor.

But you know, I remember when I first moved in here and didn't have a computer for almost 8 months. I got SO MUCH reading done. Now, it's like pulling teeth for me to quit my ADD style habits and sit and read something much less watch a movie. I really need to cut back on my computer time. It's like crack. It doesn't help that it's in my bedroom. Not much I can do about that but I could try to set a timer to stop myself from gorging myself online. Must learn to set limits. I've never been good at that. A friend of mine back from club days said I should never do drugs because he thought, and was right about, I had an addictive personality. And he was one to know. That was my Denis Leary type friend. Blunt but funny as hell. But I digress. Anyway, the first thing I do when I come home is to turn on the computer. I know I'm not the only one with this affliction.

2 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design