I'm bringing sexy back [ 2006-08-27, 4:27 p.m. ]

Another Sunday work day over. And I'm thinking it might've been my last at that location. This very well could be my last week there!! Oh, I hope that is true. After I come back from my two week vacation, my manager isn't sure if I'll be there or at the other location before I head off for training. It's so weird to think that this is basically my last week as asst. manager. I am so gone already in my mind.

I left work early yesterday because my brain was fried from lack of sleep (ooh, big surprise!). I was going to go see Mandy (my sister) at her photography studio but I needed to kill time beforehand because her sitting wouldn't be over. So I went to the mondo record store and as I'm walking in I hear a voice behind me "Shouldn't you not be going in here anymore?". I looked and it was Jeff, as in former manager and now community relations manager at the other location. I laughed and told him not yet. We chatted for a few minutes. He's into music almost as much as me. And I told him that my latest fave group was Dirty Pretty Things. I compared them, accurately in my opinion, to the Strokes and the Arctic Monkeys. I also informed him that they had split off from what used to the Libertines. And Pete Doherty (mr.drugbust himself) formed Babyshambles. Jeff said "See this is why I can't wait for you to come over so you can tell me all this stuff". That made me feel good to say the least. I can't wait either!

Anyways, I was going over to see Mandy to give her a present because yesterday was her 46th birthday. I gave her 3 Sue Grafton paperbacks because she has gotten hooked on one of my favorite authors. I spent some time at her workplace and then finally got home close to 6:30. Climbed into bed and fell asleep by 8pm. And, as I predicted to myself, woke up around 2am. Grrr. I stayed up for a couple hours and got into reading Scott Smith's The Ruins. It's very good so far.

I had gotten very little sleep on Friday night because 1)I closed that night, and 2)I couldn't turn off my brain. I started thinking about my ideas for NaNoWriMo and finally came up with one. So therefore I had to get up and write a bunch of the ideas down. I got very excited about it. Still am. I'm going to write a story based very loosely on my experiences when I was in my early twenties. Enough happened to me then to base some things on and then expand it into fictional form. Not quite A Million Little Pieces territory but I had my own problems back then.

Four days till my vacation starts!

3 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design