That is all [ 2006-12-13, 11:02 p.m. ]

I was so zonked out from work or whatever yesterday that after I ate dinner, I was asleep by 8pm. I know! Sometimes my insomnia goes out the window. I apologize. Anyway, I was out till 4am and was up for about an hour and a half. Then I was asleep till 8:30am when I had to get up for work to be there by 10.

When I woke up I could feel this flu-like ache in my body and my head was kinda swimmy and stuffed up and my throat was a bit sore. For the first half of the day, I was a bit blah. My body ache is still there but my throat is ok and my head isn't too stuffy. So..I have no idea what the heck was going on there. I am glad that I have tomorrow off. Means if there is anything wrong, then I can get some rest.

On the way home tonight I stopped by the video store again and rented The Devil Wears Prada, The DaVinci Code and Pirates 2. I picked up some dinner (and ate too much..burp) and came home and watched the first movie while eating. I listened to the book on cd of it and thought it was a cute book but kinda whiny. The movie was sooo much better. I think I might have to buy the dvd. Meryl Streep was wonderful. She really needs to be nominated for that one. And the fashions totally made me drool. It was so damn fabulous. Sigh. Makes me want to burn almost everything I own. And lose a million pounds. But it would be totally worth it.

Watching the movie made me think of how some people, including myself, think of Candi as a dragon lady. I admit she is tough. And I have been on her list way too many times. But she's nothing like that character really. She looks like a pussycat next to Meryl Streep's character. But, like the Anne Hathaway character, I do strive to please her and I hate disappointing her. Because when I please her, then I know I'm doing my job right. And that really is important to me. And...I really am loving my new position. But like other managers I do feel like there are certain balls that I keep dropping and I'm having a hard time juggling. (Holy mixing of metaphors) But..I guess gradually things will improve and iron themselves out. I am pretty hard on myself. But not hard enough sometimes. As is evidenced by my sloppiness in my house.

But anyway, back in my late teens and early twenties, I loved watching anything about fashion. I actually paid attention to the big names. I loved watching Elsa Klensch on CNN every Sunday. I was a Fashion Merchandising major the first year in college. That's how much I was into it. I wanted to be a buyer for a major store. But, alas, it wasn't meant to be. I still know some names but not as much as I used to. Of course, I watch Project Runway and that does inspire me some. But watching The Devil Wears Prada and seeing Anne Hathaway wear all that Chanel, Dolce, Calvin Klein...it just makes you see what artwork goes into those designs. Just beautiful.

0 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design