Colin Firth is the man [ 2011-02-04, 12:04 a.m. ]

I had a good birthday last week. I'm now 45 and one week. Wow.

Karaoke was fun last week. But I feel like my voice needs some work. I'm really out of practice. It's been about 6 months since I did karaoke and I felt like you could tell. But whatever. Karaoke is for fun not for impressing people.

I made a big step today. I went to the free mental health clinic. I waited for about 45 minutes before the nurse saw me to get my vitals and ask me questions. After that I waited for an hour and a half till I saw a nurse practitioner who wrote me a prescription for Symb@lta. I've never taken that but it's supposed to be similar to Pristiq which I was taking. By the time I left their pharmacy wasn't open so I'll go back tomorrow. They do it on a sliding scale so I won't pay more than $15 for the prescription. I have an appointment for an orientation at the mental health clinic and after that they set you up with a psychiatrist. This was the er clinic I went to which they suggested I go to if I wanted to get on my meds before then. So that's what I did.

It was a bit of a mental ordeal to do it. I've never been to a free clinic and I was unsure about what to do. But I have to say that I was really impressed with how professional and friendly the staff was. That made it easier.

I'm still applying to jobs. Trying to do several a day. No interviews lately though.

I think I mentioned that I was going to go see The King's Speech. Well, I did. And it was just wonderful. I did not expect to be so blown away by it. But I was. I was crying. Colin Firth is just heartbreaking and powerful. And while some people think he might be getting these accolades because his character stutters, it is so much more than that. It is about his inferiority complex. The shame he deals with. While having to be a Prince. And then King. It doesn't really matter that it's about someone in the monarchy. It is more about that drive to overcome things in your past. Whether it's stuttering, your weight or just a personality disorder. So many of us have to try. And that's what I saw up on the screen. Go see it. Now.

0 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design