Give me some kind of sign [ 2007-03-15, 10:00 p.m. ]

Today was one of those days.

Today and tomorrow we are having the "big store visit" with our DM. Candi said she would try to have our DM look at the music dept. on Friday so today was a prep day for me. I wasn't really nervous. But then our DM decided to do the walk-thru in my dept. today. Ack! But it actually went very well. I got a Meets Standards on every point. Much relieved about it and I was feeling great.

Then I sabotaged myself.

I was in receiving and doing ok talking with Jon. But then...I don't know. I feel like kicking myself for feeling so discouraged about things ever happening with him when, as far as I know, he has no idea of my attraction. I don't know. I finally left the store and went to my car and cried. It doesn't help that I'm on my period. Stupid body.

I did some retail therapy by buying a new shirt, pants and underwear. Luckily it was that special deal at LB where I really didn't spend that much because of the coupons they give you back in February.

I have definitely decided that I have to get my hair shaped up very soon. It's a big ol' mop right now. I need Nick from "What Not To Wear" to help me out.

Even on the ride home from my retail therapy, I was still feeling down about myself. But I did promise myself that I would go walking for a half hour as I did Tuesday night. So I kept that promise and came home and then felt much better about things. Exercise can actually affect your mood. Who would have thought? Yes, I know. But it really is weird how that happens.

I still have those darn two articles to write. And I've found that they really don't write themselves. Which is unfortunate. And I thought I had Sunday off for some reason and I kept thinking I could bang out one of them that day. But I work that day, so no dice. If you look up the word procrastination, you will see my face. But not anymore!! I finished my preview article! Woohoo! Here it is if you'd like to read it:

There is nothing like wearing a plain white t-shirt. Goes with everything. You can dress it up or down. The band, Plain White T�s, also has the ability to fit in with the alt-music crowd of emo and the power pop teen scene. Their music is fun yet heartfelt as in their latest single with it�s Weezer-like sound, �Hate (I Really Don�t Like You)� from the album Every Second Counts. This is their fifth release and their major label debut. The band started in the fall of 1997 by then high schooler, Tom Higgenson (front man) in Illinois. He was encouraged to continue his songwriting efforts by Christian Lane of Loud Lucy after Higgenson gave him a tape of his songs. Emboldened by this, he formed the band with Dave Tirio (guitarist). The line-up now also includes Tim Lopez (guitar & vocals), De�Mar Hamilton (drums) and Mike Retondo (bass & vocals). They�ve released three full-length cds before this latest album. Come On Over (2000), Stop (2002) and All That We Needed in 2005. After that, they put out an EP that also included two takes of a quiet, earnest song called �Hey There, Delilah�. It includes one of my favorite lyrics; Times Square can�t shine as bright as you. What girl could resist that line? The Plain White T�s will be headlining an All Ages show at the Tremont Music Hall with supporting acts Boys Night Out, Lovedrug and Dear & The Headlights on Wednesday, April 11th.

0 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design