NaNoWriMo [ 2004-11-01, 2:30 a.m. ]

Soooo....I was supposed to go see Michael Chabon talk on Saturday night. But I just was not in the mood for it. I made myself get ready to go though. Then Michael called. He asked me to come over to his house to watch scary movies with him and Paco. So..yay! I did! I figure,hey..memories of spending time with your friends are worth a bit more than listening to an author speak even though said author is one you like.

So we watched 3 movies. First up was Godsend, it was slow and badly directed even though good actors were in it. It was an interesting concept but very poorly executed. Then,for comic relief, was Saved!. It was pretty funny but for me, the biggest laugh was in the first five minutes. It had too much of a tidy ending but I liked it anyway. And with Martin Donovan how can one go wrong. I love that man.

Then we ended with House of the Dead. What a load of crappola. But it was so bad it was funny. We snarked on it the whole way through. I didn't know it was based on a videogame. So inane.

My favorite scary movies are things like Halloween which are more about fear than gore. And I like ghost stories a lot too so during October I always end up watching TLC and channels like that that have specials about haunted houses etc.. I guess I do believe in ghosts and spirits and I'm not so much afraid of them. But I'm afraid of the unknown like most human beings. Nothing scarier than not knowing or understanding what's around the corner in the dark.

I'm debating on asking Michael and Paco to come over on Tuesday night to watch the returns come in. I don't want to do it at their house mainly because I have digital cable and they super duper basic cable. Not even CNN or anything.

I'm watching Fear Factor yet again. What's sad is that I recorded the marathon that was on FX today. I just like watching the stunts they make these people do. The "gamesmanship" I could do without. Trash talking is so annoying. Just do it and do it well. And shut up!

I really should be writing my novel right now. NaNoWriMo started a couple hours or so ago. I decided to try and do it. I heard about it last year and thought, hey I've always wanted to write a novel so why not give it a try. I just need to pin down what I'm going to write about! Ack. I think I'm going to do the old "write what you know" thing. But in what way I'm not sure.

--------- And I'm back a few hours later. I just wrote 913 words in my novel. Go me! I did it in about 30-40 minutes. And most of it was kind of off the top of my head. Its about a woman in her mid-30's who goes to back to the small town she grew up in. She's been through a bad engagement breakup and wants to start over in her personal life and her career. I'm not really moving anywhere but I know about the crappy personal life and career so I'm writing from experience there. The title is "Coldstream". That's the name of the town. I pulled it out of a travel book about Scotland. I just liked the sound of it. I really should be in bed but fuck it. I'm on a writer's high right now.

1 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design