Oscar wrap-up [ 2005-03-01, 4:21 a.m. ]

Yesterday I went over to Michael's house to watch the Oscars. Besides Michael and Paco, they also had Paul and Van over too. I haven't seen Van in probably 3 or 4 years, I'm guessing. She's been a friend of Michael's for a while. She split up with her husband a couple years ago. She also went to the Cordon Bleu in Paris a year ago and now she's a chef at a restaurant here in town.

So anyway, I thought Chris Rock did a great job. He made us laugh so hard and his jokes were just edgy enough without being mean. I wish there had been more surprises with the winners but I was ok with who won, though. Jamie Foxx's speech was very heartfelt and I love what he said about his grandmother. Very sweet. There are some things I just can't be too cynical about and one of them for some reason is the Oscars. I've been watching it since I was a little kid. I'm not really one of those people who read gossip rags or anything. I read Entertainment Weekly every single week and just find that if I know about movies and tv and music and books that it seems to feed my soul somehow. I don't get to see all the movies I'd like to and I want to change that. I really need to go see them more often in the theatre. There's nothing quite like that experience of watching a movie in the theatre. I go to movies by myself most of the time. And most of the time I prefer it that way. It lets me get a pure experience. Just go on my own reaction. Not the person sitting next to me.

On Sunday at work, I was on the floor walking around helping customers. I saw this guy out of the corner of my eye who looked familiar. I couldn't quite place him though. And when I was at the cashwrap, I saw him again. Once I was finished with a customer I looked over at him and realized it was my old neighbor. He moved out about 2 years ago. He had lived in the apartment that joins mine in the house (I live in a duplex) with his girlfriend. So we catch up and he tells me that he had broken up with g/f. He had moved to Atlanta and said it didn't quite work out. Now he's back in town. Or rather one of the small towns right outside of the city limits. He's teaching to pay the bills but still working on his music. He's a pretty good songwriter and he gave me his EP before he left when he moved. When he had his band at the time, he cleared it with me that it was ok for them to practice next door. After a while, after having gone a bit crazy, I told him that to please please please practice when I'm not home. Man, were they loud.

So I'm talking with him and helping him with some books. One of them needed to be ordered and at this point I realized I wasn't going to be able to come up with his name. I am so awful with names. I've met way too many people in my life that unless I've made a deep connection with you..just forget it. Its nothing personal but my brain just isn't capable of retaining that much info. Its too busy remembering all the words to the Brady Bunch theme song.

So I get his phone number for the order then I take a breath and say "What's your first name?" As soon as he said "Aaron" I felt like hitting my forehead. Crap. How embarrassing. But it isn't like I didn't recognize him. I asked him questions only a person who remembered him would say. Its just the damn name I didn't recall. I think I did too many drugs and drank too much alcohol and its completely killed off my recall brain cells. At least for names that would get me out of an embarrassing situation.

I'm off tomorrow! Yay!

I got an email from a guy on match.com. I don't know if I want to email him back yet. I haven't looked at his profile. He already told me he didn't post his pic with it but that's ok. He said he'd send it if I wanted him to. I'm going to have think on this. It really depends on his profile more than anything else. Looks are secondary. Editing this a few minutes later just to say that I looked at his profile and it did have a pic, I guess it just wasn't public is what he meant. I just didn't care that much for his profile. If I'm going to take a chance on somebody there needs to be something there to spark my interest. His looks weren't bad but frankly I think I have too much on my mind to even take this whole 'net dating business seriously.

I could have gone to bed 4 hours ago. But because I'm an insomniac, hence the diary title, I am still awake. Must. resist. sleep. at. all. costs!! Why? No idea. Ok. I sorta do. I'd rather be awake. I love sleeping but I just don't usually like the act of trying to actually get to that state. Plus, the longer this day is..then the more I can put off starting the next day. Even though tomorrow is my day off this rule usually applies to when I have to work the next day.

Speaking of work..still no word from the other bookstore I applied to (Joseph-Beth). They aren't supposed to open till April or May so who knows when they'll actually hire.

1 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design