I know this world is killing you [ 2005-03-08, 12:22 a.m. ]

Sigh. Tomorrow is the first day of my mini-vacation. Lovely. Work today turned pretty crappy towards the end so it was a relief to get out of there. Such a relief in fact that I came home and slept for 5 hours. Bliss.

I opened on Sunday and thought the day would be nice and easy. But then I was in the cafe working on a table display and saw the cafe server,Jeremy,reading a magazine. He knows better. I told him to look at the checklist of duties that he could do while its not busy. I turned back to the table and heard the word "fuck" and saw him throw down the magazine. I said "excuse me?" and followed him as he went back to the cafe back room. He started bitching and moaning about how he didn't want to be here and he was sick of this place. Oh and apparantly I'm always picking on him to wear his hat. This is the food service industry, folks. He needs to wear the hat/apron as part of the uniform and because of the health code. After more bitching, I told him to go home once the next person came in which would be in 10minutes. That boy has such a fucking martyr complex. Get off the cross,buddy. Somebody could use the wood.

I hate that cafe. As much as I like having the coffee there, I would totally sacrifice that luxury by not having the cafe in the store. But unfortunately, it isn't going anywhere. These kids that work in the cafe can be really good and hardworking. But then there are the ones who have no concept of what work is. Plus, stop bitching at me. I'm your boss and you are thisclose to be written up.

As you can see, I really need this time off. I was still pissed off about that whole thing while I was at the manager meeting this morning. I elaborated even more on the above rant. But it felt good to just let it out.

I had a dream about Ben Affleck the other night. I think I've been seeing those ads on Bravo for Project Greenlight too much. But anyway, I was trying to make my way through this big city, NYC, I think. I was on foot but he had a car. The man did not even offer to drive me anywhere. But I'm not sure why dream me thought he should.

I called the dentist's office today and made an appt for March 23rd. Yay!

Also, on the subject of TMJ, I was reading at work the latest issue of Woman's Day. There was a good article about TMJ. It suggested some different treatments. One was taking magnesium citrate before going to bed. It apparantly is a natural muscle relaxant. So I bought some at the drug store today and I'm going to give that a try. Plus, I'm going to wear my bite guard at night way more often.

Tomorrow night is the Elvis Costello concert. I'm not sure he's ever played in my town before. It will be so cool to see him. I remember being a teenager and seeing his video for "What's so funny 'bout peace,love and understanding" for the first time. I liked his sound but admit I was never ga-ga over him. He was just one of those performers like the Talking Heads that I liked but didn't buy their albums at the time. I think there are a lot of people like that though. People you know you really like and admire but don't necessarily spend money on because they aren't trendy. Not that I didn't buy good stuff but I only had so much money when I was a kid. It was half spent on quality and half spent on Top 40. But then again, looking back, I still like most of the Top 40 songs from my teen years. Maybe its nostalgia but I don't think so.

I remember how much I would listen to Squeeze's East Side Story album. It would constantly stay on my turntable. I would alternate it with Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers' Damn the Torpedoes. Ah, memories. That was when I was 16 and 17. I used to go to Tanglewood Mall when I lived in Roanoke and shop at the Record Bar. I had the biggest crush on Tom Widemayer who I think was the store manager. He was probably in his early 20's at the time and I just thought he was the sexiest man. I remember Kathy and I finding out where he lived. And of course we would go cruising past it for no real reason.

Anyways, I would go into the Record Bar and spend most of the money I earned by working for my dad just on records. I would go there and to the Record Exchange and buy a lot of cool new wave stuff.

Speaking of new wave..I was reading on my break today this fun book called ..uh..something like "Rockbandica Fakebandica". Anyway, this guy had compiled a list and short description of all the fake bands from tv and film. It was so much fun to read through. I was reminded of the 1980 movie called "Breaking Glass" which had a band of the same name. I hadn't thought of that movie in years but I remember really thinking how cool it was at the time. Plus, the Stains from the 1981 (I think) Diane Lane movie "Ladies and Gentlemen, the fabulous Stains!". I used to watch that over and over on USA Night Flight. Most of you don't remember USA Night Flight, I imagine. It was on during most of the '80's I think. They would play starting from about 11pm till early morning on USA, cool videos and offbeat music centered movies. Plus there was some NYC show that played popular new wave/punk songs that was like American Bandstand for people with mohawks. That was really the super coolest to me. There was another show from NYC too, I think, that showcased bands that were punk/new wave/whatever.

I really wish the music scene these days was more exciting. But those days are long passed. That's why, even though I can't afford it, I seize the opportunity to see Elvis Costello in person.

2 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design