Its like a vacation in a bottle [ 2005-05-01, 4:29 a.m. ]

I've had a dvd weekend. Last night I watched Final Cut which starred Robin Williams. It was an intriguing movie. This whole concept of people having a chip in their head that records their entire life then when you die someone edits together a short film for your loved ones to watch. Kinda freaky really since all the intimate details would be there. The movie was pretty good though the ending was a bit unexpected. I do wish the movie had concentrated more on the idea than on these people who were trying to get their hands on this dead guy's chip.

Tonight I watched Closer which stars Julia Roberts,Clive Owen,Jude Law and Natalie Portman. I liked this movie well enough but wasn't blown away by it. One thing was confirmed for me though. Julia Roberts was born to be a mom. I know most people like to not like her but that woman is so good at doing that mom thing of correcting your posture and things like that. Heh. I know its weird but I noticed that in the movie.

And then I watched The Notebook which stars Ryan Gosling and James Garner. I really liked the leads in this movie. The younger and older versions. There were parts of the movie that were cliched and moved a bit slow but towards the end..I was vowing that I wouldn't cry but the last scene tore me up. It was sweet and sad at the same time.

The meeting yesterday went ok. Nothing majorly new was said. Nothing that couldn't be done with a memo. But I'm not complaining since it kept me out of the store for the day and I got a free lunch. Score!

Tomorrow is Sunday and I will probably try to do some work on my resume. At least write out some ideas and get some kind of framework done. Getting started is always the hardest part.

The Notebook has the potential to be one of those movies that could depress the hell outta me. Not having a big love in my life or anything in the near future...well, I think my age is what depresses me about that. If I was in my twenties, I wouldn't worry too hard about it. I do believe in fate and I guess I should just think that if and when it happens it will happen. Its just not happening soon enough for me.

One of the things I loved about that movie was seeing my beloved Charleston represented and the surrounding places in the low country of South Carolina. Absolutely gorgeous. I get to go there at the end of May. It just feeds my soul to go there.

0 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design