Strolling along minding my own business [ 2006-07-18, 12:28 a.m. ]

Yes I know that my entry yesterday was a bit rambling and overwrought. But I was just writing what I was feeling in the moment and hey, that's what my diary is for.

I was all crampy this morning and begged off on going to the Monday manager meeting. I got some much needed sleep and then went in at 3pm. Took a leftover Lortab pill and just eased into the day. Gotta love that feeling.

I spoke briefly with my manager,Candi, today (she's back from vacay) and she was telling me that she just needs to tell a few more people that they didn't get the job and then we can go public with the announcement of me leaving the store for the other. I told her that I have a big mouth and it's killing me not to blab to every single person. As it is, all the management knows cause I really couldn't keep it to myself.

When my DM was leaving her office today, she mentioned she was going to get herself a Venti Frapp (we've been participating in a big Frapp Festival thing where the stores are competing with their numbers last year). I told her that I'd probably have one for my dinner. She mentioned I should have more than that to which I replied that it's kind of difficult to sit down for a real dinner when you're the only manager on duty. She then mentioned that when I'm music manager that I'll be able to actually clock out for dinner. To which I replied "clock out? I'll be hourly?". She said yes and mentioned the wage which averages out to what I make a week on salary. Woo! Ha. This whole thing has been such a whirlwind that I wasn't even told that I would be hourly. I've been salaried for at least 8 years or so now.

Most of me is kind of psyched that I'll be hourly because it means I get paid weekly instead of bi-weekly. I hate budgeting for bi-weekly paychecks. Plus, it means that I could get overtime pay. Like working on holidays (July 4th, Labor Day, New Year's Day and Memorial Day) means I get really good money. Woot! It will be weird though to have to punch in and out (albeit, we use a computer for it not timecards).

Diane was all weepy again today and I really don't know what else to say to her. It isn't that I don't sympathize. But I guess part of me is relieved that it isn't me anymore. That I get to move on and be in a new place. I have no idea what she was weepy about today because all I did was ask her if she was ok. She didn't seem to want to elaborate and frankly, ...man, I seem kind of mean here...I just didn't want to hear about it. I honestly believe that some of this like St.Elmo's Fire for her. She's making it a bigger deal than it needs to be. She's had almost 3 weeks off and she comes back no better than before. I seriously think she needs some major therapy. I don't know what else to do for her.

On a lighter note...remember the opening scene of the fab movie Sexy Beast where they play The Stranglers' song "Peaches"? Well, anyway, I do. I loved that song and had never heard it before. And I'm now the proud owner of it from the punk rock box set. And I keep listening to it over and over. "walking on the beaches lookin' at the peaches" I love this song. Thing is, when I worked at the little record store back in the early nineties, we carried the Stranglers and I never listened to them. They were right there!! And I never listened. *shakes head* Makes me want to go back in time and smack myself on the back of the head.

0 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
Ryan Adams
myspace
NaNoWriMo

Photos
email
Idolator
notes
host
design